top of page

Media Release                                                                                                                                                     14 March 2017


Skip’s Speedcar Memorial.


Saturday November 18th at Avalon raceway presents a significant and sombre new event on the Victorian Speedcar calendar with a stellar field set to battle it out for the honour of becoming the first ever winner of “Skip’s Race”, the Braeden “Skip” Palmer memorial.


Skip was a rising talent in the Victorian Speedcar ranks until his premature death in a road car accident last year. The well liked young gun will be forever remembered in this inaugural tribute event that is sure to be fiercely fought out.


The Victorian Speedcar Drivers Association of Victoria, one of the oldest speedcar/midget clubs in the world (82 years of racing), has been going through something of a resurgence in recent years, and rightfully so as the pocket rockets frequently put on more thrilling side by side racing than the higher profile Sprintcars.




Recent Victorian Speedcar Action - Photo courtesy

The regeneration of this more traditional speedway class is due in no small part to the efforts of the teams and competitors who have toiled tirelessly to regrow and expand the class spreading the word and the racing action around the state.


Sadly young Skip will not be part of the action come Saturday night but many other young talented drivers will be trying to emulate Skip’s skill and love of racing including third generation racers Toby Smith and Amber Ghent.


The youngsters will be taking on seasoned second generation racers such as Travis Mills, Andy Pearce, Craig Smith and Luke Ferguson and other class stalwarts like Paul Farrell, Grant Patton, Matt Papa, Domain Ramsey, Nick Parker and co.


One rookie for whom the event takes on extra significance is larrikin David Alford who is now behind the wheel of Skip’s old ride, the famous John “Flux” Fitzgerald #18.


Picking a winner however is nigh on impossible! Veterans Farrell and Mills have both scored a feature win this season but so has former National Compact Speedcar Champ Justin McMinn. The biggest surprise however was rookie Mitch Whiting winning at Portland becoming the quickest rookie to ever win a feature in the clubs history, eclipsing sophmore Nick Parkers record from last season at the same venue. No one has been able to make victory lane more than once.


No matter what, this weekends’ event is sure to be a wide open race, with exciting racing and an unknown outcome. What more could you want?



Future VSDA Dates:


Saturday                25th March            Nyora Raceway.


Saturday                1st April                   Avalon Raceway – Rd 5 Track Championship.


Brett Swanson

Pirate Media Group

Australian Highline Magazine


  • Ends -

72nd Victorian Speedcar Championship T-Shirt with Honour Role

Available soon via our soon to be online store.....The VSDA 72nd Victorian Speedcar Championship T-Shirt with Honour roll on the back. Come in Black only and a range of sizes are available. In the meantime if you would like a t-shirt before our store is set up please contact us via the contact page with your Details & size requirements. Delivery to VSDA race meetings can be arranged.

bottom of page