top of page

Luke Ferguson takes an Outstanding podium placing in WA behind Kingshott

Kingshott Grabs Night One

Dayne Kingshott has tonight become the first driver to win multiple features this season as he raced his way to victory in the Tracy’s Treats USA vs WA Speedcar Shootout Round One at Manjimup Speedway.

Kingshott was in good form the whole night, winning a heat and placing second in the other to set up a pole position start for the twenty five lap feature alongside fellow West Aussie Travis White.

As the green flag flew, Kingshott was immediately into the lead and chased by Keenan Fleming who was coming from the third starting position. White would settle into third while American visitor Tucker Klaasmeyer slotted into the fourth position, right on White’s tail.

On lap four Klaasmeyer would make his first big move of the race, using the highline to perfection and racing around White for third. White fought back quickly but Klaasmeyer pulled away, with the top four cars opening up a significant gap on the rest of the field.

Kingshott found his way into traffic on lap nine, while behind him Klaasmeyer was closing on second placed Fleming, eventually making his move as they made their way through traffic. The two raced side by side before Tucker managed to break free and clearly take second position, then setting his sights on Kingshott.

White then had a half lose that saw him lose significant ground on the top three, while Klaasmeyer closed on Kingshott, but just then the first stoppage of the race would occur as Dan Golding managed to invert his machine in a big way in the exit of turn two, bringing out the red lights.

This would leave nine laps remaining at the ensuing restart, but it was all downhill from here as firstly Keenan Fleming, who was third at the time, was unable to refire and join the field. Next Klaasmeyer, who was on Kingshotts tail, had a half lose that saw him venture onto the infield, regain control and pull back onto the track and then stop, causing a yellow light.

The race would resume again, running for another six laps, until, with three laps to go, Victorian visitor Joe Lostitch would lose a wheel and roll over heavily in the middle of turns one and two. At the same time Klaasmeyer suddenly slowed, with another Victorian in Luke Ferguson, running strongly in third behind Kingshott and White, riding up the back of Klaasmeyer before somehow continuing on.

Six cars would take the green for the final time and with three laps remaining there were no changes, with Kingshott taking the win from White and Ferguson, with Brett Ireland, despite crossing the line in sixth, coming home fourth due to Stuart Yates and Andy Pearce both being a lap down.

The Speedcars put on some sensational racing throughout the night, with the opening heat an absolute cracker and setting the tone for what was a great night. Such was the competitiveness of the evening that four different drivers claimed the four heats!

Kingshott would also claim the winners cheque in the DTN West vs The Rest Shootout, with thanks to Dirt Track Nutters, Aidan Skraha Photography, Asteel Powdercoaters and Mears Electrical.

Now, all eyes turn towards Margaret River where a strong Speedcar field is nominated to run there tomorrow night.

Stay tuned throughout the day for updates!

Release by DTN Media. Pics Courtesy Aidan Skraha Photography.

Official Results

Heat One – 10 laps: 1. 12 Chris Telenta, 2. 38 Travis White, 3. 26 Keenan Fleming, 4. V4 Luke Ferguson, 5. V22 Joe Lostitch, 6. V15 Andy Pearce, 7. S83 Brett Ireland. Total Time: 2.59.004. Winning Margin: 0.302. Fastest Lap: 17.207 Keenan Fleming.

Heat Two – 10 laps: 1. 24 Dayne Kingshott, 2. USA7 Tucker Klaasmeyer, 3. 17 Dan Golding, 4. 32 Stuart Yates, 5. 89 Aaron North (9). DNF: 9 Vaughan Manders (3). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.286. Fastest Lap: 16.511 Dayne Kingshott.

Heat Three – 10 laps: 1. 26 Keenan Fleming, 2. 24 Dayne Kingshott, 3. USA7 Tucker Klaasmeyer, 4. V4 Luke Ferguson, 5. V22 Joe Lostitch, 6. 89 Aaron North (8). Total Time: 2.48.849. Winning Margin: 1.942. Fastest Lap: 16.611 Tucker Klaasmeyer.

Heat Four – 10 laps: 1. 38 Travis White, 2. 32 Stuart Yates, 3. 17 Dan Golding, 4. S83 Brett Ireland, 5. 12 Chris Telenta. DNF: V15 Andy Pearce (3). DNS: 9 Vaughan Manders. Total Time: 2.53.768. Winning Margin: 1.206. Fastest Lap: 16.870 Travis White.

West vs The Rest Shootout – 6 laps: 1. 24 Dayne Kingshott, 2. USA7 Tucker Klaasmeyer, 3. V22 Joe Lostitch, 4. V4 Luke Ferguson, 5. 38 Travis White. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.885. Fastest Lap: 16.838 Dayne Kingshott.

Feature – 25 laps: 1. 24 Dayne Kingshott, 2. 38 Travis White, 3. V4 Luke Ferguson, 4. S83 Brett Ireland, 5. 32 Stuart Yates (24), 6. V15 Andy Pearce (24). DNF: USA7 Tucker Klaasmeyer (22), V22 Joe Lostitch (21), 26 Keenan Fleming (16), 17 Dan Golding (15), 12 Chris Telenta (10), 9 Vaughan Manders (8), 89 Aaron North (3). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 3.316. Fastest Lap: 16.720 Keenan Fleming.

bottom of page