top of page

Nathan Smee takes the 45 lap Marathon at Wangaratta

Nathan Smee driving the Troy Jordan owned Stealth/Toyota took out the 45 lap Australian Speedcar State of Origin at Wangaratta on the 2nd March from Nick Parker & Joe Lostitch in sweltering 35 degree heat early in the day.

Heat winners were Dillon Ghent, Nathan Smee, Chris Telenta, Braydan Willmington with the pole shuffle taken out by Andy Pearce with surprisingly Travis Mills not making the cut for the top 8 pole shuffle.

18 cars lined up for the Feature with Andy Pearce on pole from Smee, Chris Telenta from WA, Braydan Willmington NSW, Nick Parker, Dillon Ghent, Justin McMinn, Harley Smee NSW, Travis Mills, Mike Griffiths, Lostitch, Justin Paull, Craig Smith, Glen Shaw, Glen Mears WA,Toby Smith, Caleb Mills & Clint Leibhardt NSW.

Willmington withdrew before the start with engine problems Pearce led early from Smee until turn 4 on second lap when Chris Telentas car which was running third just stopped, setting up the chain reaction.involving Harley Smee, Justin McMinn,Travis Mills, Dillon Ghent, Mike Griffiths, Joseph Lostitch with Parker just managing to avoid the melee in front of him.

McMinn & Ghent had to retire with the others restarting at the rear.

From there Smee took over and led from Pearce, Parker, Smee H until about lap 32 when Harley Smee who had gotten past Parker for third had a coming together with Pearce in second going down the back straight which ultimately put both cars out of the race.

At the restart the order was Nathan Smee, Nick Parker, Travis Mills who had steadily recovered from the rear, Lostitch, Glen Mears, Glen Shaw, Justin Paull, Mike Griffiths, Toby Smith & Caleb Mills with Craig Smith & Leibhardt also withdrawing.

Smee led the restart from Parker & Mills with Lostitch catching and eventually passing an ailing Mills car later to retire with shredded left rear to take over third with Glen Shaw in 4th, Justin Paull 5th, Glen Mears 6th, Mike Griffths 7th & Caleb Mills the final finisher.

bottom of page